Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

November 6, 2013

On The Bright Side – Mary Howell – November 6, 2013

Filed under: Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 6:01 am

 

The song, Jesus Loves Me was probably the very first song that most of us learned how to sing.  The simple words are dear to the young and the old.

 

Whether or not we are two years old or 102 years old, Jesus Loves Me brings comfort and joy to us.  I personally cannot remember when I did not know how to sing Jesus Loves Me.

 

I remember going to the funeral of the 5-year-old granddaughter of Wayne and Nettie Reeves.  I was about 6 years old at the time.  The minister who gave the eulogy stopped in the middle of the service and sang all three verses of Jesus Loves Me.  That was an unforgettable moment in my mind and I determined that when I die, I wanted to have Jesus Loves Me sung at my funeral.

 

During the years of my childhood and teenaged years,  the song  still holds a special place in my heart.  When my Mother was facing the last day or two of her life, I would slip into the Intensive Care Unit of St. Elizabeth Hospital in the wee hours of the morning and quietly sing Jesus Loves Me to my mother.

 

Years later when my Dad was sick with Sundowner’s Syndrome, I would sing Jesus Loves Me to him to calm him and bring a bit of comfort to him.   The words seemed to calm his restlessness.

 

Now that I now make my home in Hemphill Care Center, I have discovered that my friends who are in the winter of their lives, still love Jesus Loves Me.

 

 

Page 2

 

The song is often requested during the singalongs at the Care Center.

 

Jesus loves me this I know

For the Bible tells me so

Little ones to Him belong

They are weak but He is strong.

 

Jesus loves me, This I know

As He loved so long ago,

Taking children on His knee,

Saying let them come to Me.

.

Jesus loves me! He will stay

Close beside me on my way.

He’s prepared a home for me.

And someday His face I’ll see.

 

Yes, Jesus loves me!

Yes, Jesus loves me!

Yes, Jesus loves me!

The Bible tells me so.

 

Jesus Loves Me – the truth that Jesus Loves Me can give us a life on the bright side.

++++

//www.youtube.com/embed/

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

