Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

October 13, 2013

“THE YOGI FACTOR” BY: NEAL MURPHY

Filed under: Neal Murphy — Freddie Keel @ 6:49 am

 

 

Most fans of professional baseball will agree that Yogi Berra was the greatest catcher in the history of the game.  Berra was born Lawrence Peter Berra in St. Louis, Missouri in 1925.  He dropped out of school after the eighth grade, spending several years in the military. Yogi began his professional baseball career in 1946.  He ended up playing for the New York Yankees for many years as catcher, outfielder, and as manager of the club.  He managed the Houston Astros for a few years in the final years of his career.

yogi_ruth

Mel Ott once said of Yogi, “He seemed to be doing everything wrong, yet everything came out right.  He stopped everything behind the plate, and hit everything in front it.”  Casey Stengel once quipped, “He’d fall in a sewer and come up with a gold watch.”  Even Hector Lopez got into praising Berra by stating, “Yogi had the fastest bat I ever saw.  He could hit a ball late, one that was already past him, and take it out of the park.  The pitchers were afraid of him because he’d hit anything, so they didn’t know what to throw.  Yogi had them psyched out and he wasn’t even trying to psych them out.”

yogi

Berra appeared in 21 World Series games, and was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1972.  Given the fact that he was a great baseball player, as well as a manager, he was also famous for his mangled quotes.  He enjoyed bantering with the media and issued forth a number of statements that make one re-think what he had said.  The following is a good list of many of them: *

“All pitchers are liars or crybabies.”

“A nickel ain’t worth a dime anymore.”

“Baseball is ninety percent mental.  The other half is physical.”

“Bill Dickey is learning me his experience.”

“He hits from both sides of the plate. He’s amphibious.”

“How can you hit and think at the same time?”

“I always thought that record would stand until it was broken.”

“I can see how Sandy Koufax won twenty-five games.  What I don’t understand is how he lost five.”

“I don’t know if the naked streakers running across the field were men or women.  They had bags over their heads.”

“If people don’t want to come out to the ballpark, how are you going to stop them?”

“I’m a lucky guy and I’m happy to be with the Yankees.  And I want to thank everyone for making this night necessary.”

“I’m not going to buy my kids an encyclopedia.  Let them walk to school like I did.”

“In baseball, you don’t know nothing.”

“I never blame myself when I’m not hitting.  I just blame the bat, and if it keeps up, I change bats.  After all, if I know it isn’t my fault that I’m not hitting, how can I get mad at myself?”

“I never said most of the things I said.”

“It ain’t the heat, it’s the humility.”

“It gets late early out here.”

“I think Little League is wonderful.  It keeps kids out of the house.”

“It’s déjà vu all over again.”

“Nobody goes there anymore because it’s too crowded.”

“So I’m ugly.  I never saw anyone hit with his face.”

“Take it all with a grin of salt.”

“The game isn’t over until it’s over.”

“The towels were so thick there I could hardly close my suitcase.”

“You can observe a lot just by watching.”

“You should always go to other peoples’ funeral; otherwise, they won’t come to yours.”

“You’ve got to be very careful if you don’t know where you are going because you might not get there.”

“We made too many wrong mistakes.”

“When you come to a fork in the road, take it.”

Once his wife, Carmen, asked Yogi where he wanted to be buried because he was from St. Louis, lived in New Jersey, and played ball in New York.  His answer was, “Surprise me.”

It seems that one of his sons, Dale, might be following in his father’s footsteps. He once stated, “You can’t compare me with my father. Our similarities are different.”  Once Yogi was told by a coach to turn his bat around so he could ‘read’ the label and not break the bat.  Yogi’s reply was, “I came up here to hit, not to read.”

So there you have the best collection of baseball related quotation spoken by Yogi Berra and about Yogi Berra.

* Baseball Almanac

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

