Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

October 5, 2013

On The Bright Side -Mary Howell

Filed under: Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 6:38 am

 

Every day I hear people sneezing which reminds me of an article that I read in a nationally published magazine about 40 years ago.

 

The sneezing article got my attention and the facts were confirmed by a research on the Internet.  Everybody sneezes.  Some of us do it louder and more frequently than others.  Sneezing usually leaves a pleasing smile to those who see a friend sneeze.

 

I remember when I was in college when I saw one of my professors walking across the campus that walked straight as an arrow and was very precise in his speech.  My friend and I happened to see the tall lanky professor sneeze.  We got so tickled because it looked like his head was going to hit the sidewalk.

 

When we sneeze, a quick rush of air clears our nasal passageway of its irritations.  Sneezing can be caused by bright sunshine or after exercise.  We might be surprised to hear that sneezes can occur at a speed of 100 mph. 

 

However, I remember another sneezing episode that took me to the emergency room.  I was visiting my grandmother who had broken her hip and was hospitalized.  I was standing outside beside my aunt’s car when all of a sudden, I sneezed and my head fell forward against the side of the car.  My head and eyes swelled up so I ended up going to see my grandmother’s doctor that hot sunshiny day.  The incident taught me to be careful to see what was in front of me before I sneezed.

 

Contrary to what some people believe, our hearts do not stop when we sneeze.  The rhythm may change but the heart keeps beating. Some people sneeze so loudly that it echoes through out the building and others may sneeze as quietly as a rabbit.  We may be surprised to know that the loudest sneeze of the animals is the iguana.

 

Loud sneezing runs in the Howell family and believe it or not, it may be inherited from our parents and grandparents.

 

The week before my college graduation, my Dad had surgery and was hospitalized until the day before I was to receive my diploma.  I had been afraid that my Dad would miss the big moment when I walked across the stage.  Just a few minutes before I did that, I head my Dad sneeze in a crowd of 1500 people.  I knew for sure without a doubt that my Dad was there.

 

According to Dr. Neil Kao, sneezing is an important part of the immune system helping to keep us healthy and sniffle-free.  Sneezes protect the body by clearing the nose of bacteria and viruses.

 

Since the flu season will be here soon, let us remember that sneezing is a good thing and can give us healthy days on the bright side.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

