Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

September 18, 2013

On The Bright Side – Mary Howell

Filed under: Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 6:15 am

 

 

God often gives me opportunity to speak a word of comfort and encouragement to those who need to see life on the bright side.

 

Friends come to ask me difficult questions such as “Why do bad things happen to good people?’ and “Why does God keep testing me?’  I assure them that God is still God and that He loves us regardless of where we are in life.  Bad things happen to good people every day.  The devil works rampantly to destroy everything that God has in store for us.  The devil wants to keep us from being happy.

 

God always wants us to be happy.  He gave his son Jesus, to die upon the cross so that we who believe in Him can have victory and blessings every day.

 

When my friends share their problems with me, they know that I care and will pray for them.  I remind them when He brings us to a problem, He will take us through it.

 

I am reminded of the Bible story about Daniel in the lion’s den.  God allowed him to be put in the den with hungry lions, but God brought him out of the den without even a tooth mark from the lions.

 

When my friends seem to lose faith in God, I remind them of the story of Job in the Bible.  Job lost all of his earthly possessions and his family but Job’s faith remained steadfast.  His friends tried to get him to curse God but Job was a just man and remained true to God.

 

When friends come and share that they have friends and family who are critically ill and facing probable death, I do my best to let them know that God loves them and that He is a wonderful source of comfort.

 

It is my prayer that God will bless each one who reads this column and will some way find comfort and strength to live life on the bright side.

 

September 18, 2013

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

