Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

July 17, 2013

On The Bright Side – Mary Howell – July17, 2013

Filed under: Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 6:37 am

 

Two weeks ago, I received a notice from the American Association of Retired Persons informing me that I would be turning 65 in a few months! Well, I already knew that!  Believe it or not!

 

It did not take me long to determine that that piece of mail was for file 13!  It promptly found its way to the nearest trash can.

 

Since I was born between the years of 1945 and 1960, I am one of the baby boomers generation.  Just because I was born about three years after WWII ended, my birthday does not mean that I am over the hill yet!

 

Most of my classmates will also turn age 65 within the year and some of them have already retired after thirty years working at their chosen career.

 

For me, it is hard for me to find something from which to retire.  I do not plan to retire from doing the things I do every day.  First of all, I plan to keep serving the Lord and living my life for Jesus who gave His life for me.

 

I also plan to keep praying for my family and friends and ask God to bless each one every day. 

 

I also want to keep smiling and find something to laugh about every day.  I would like to say thank you to my Heavenly Father for His blessing on me.

 

I want to tell my readers that I do not plan to retire from writing On The Bright Side.  God has given me a talent and I plan to keep using it to bring a ray of sunshine to my readers.

 

Like my Dad, I plan to do all I can while I can and to keep living life on the bright side.

    ++++++++++++

Biography for Mary Howell

Mary Howell is a cerebral palsied quadriplegic who has resided at Hemphill Care Center in Hemphill, Texas since November, 2009.  She lived with her parents until their deaths and then lived in her home with 24/7 caregivers.  Mary has spent her life turning defeat into victory.  Her determination and strong faith in God have been an inspiration to all who know her.

Mary attended Hemphill High School, Wharton Junior College and served as the Editor of the Sabine County Reporter.  She has received numerous awards from the Texas Press Women and the Texas Press Association. for her writing.  Mary wrote and published her autobiography in 2007, Life On The Bright Side.

She has received various awards for her services in the community. She was named as an outstanding citizen, communicator of achievement, and Texas Handicapped Professional Woman of the Year in 1986.  She was among the “Nine Who Make A Difference” selected by KTRE-TV in 1986..

Mary’s love for God makes the difference in her life, enabling her to turn sadness into happiness and apparent defeat into victory.

1 Comment »

  1. I know Mary Howell, and I knew her father, “Brother Howell,” quite well. The loveliest of people and the dearest of friends to my family.

    I knew Mary when she was a little girl. Her dad was my pastor at the First Baptist Church in Hemphill, Texas where I grew-up
    during a part of my youth. Mary is a true inspiration in many ways.

    But as far as her writings…

    The difference
    Between inspired writing
    And just good writing
    Is inspiration,
    And we choose nothing.

    Jere Gallup

    Comment by Jere R. Gallup — May 29, 2015 @ 12:53 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

