Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

October 3, 2012

On The Bright Side Mary Howell – Oct 3, 2012

Filed under: Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 5:26 am

On The Bright Side

Mary Howell

 

A few weeks ago, I was inspired to write this column after hearing Bro. Robert Shaddock give a devotional at Hemphill Care Center.

 

During his speech he stopped and sang a little song.

 

          Jesus, I just want to love you.

          Jesus, I just want to praise you,

          Jesus, I just want to serve you,

          I just want to thank you for being so good.

 

The words of this song got stuck in my head and I hummed it over and over again.  Bro. Shaddock reminded us that when we serve others, and do nice things for friends, that we are serving the Lord.

 

The Bible tells us “In as much as you have done it to the least of these my brethren, you have done it unto me.”

 

I have heard it said that God has no hands but our hands and no feet but our feet.  To me, this means that we should try to do His will and go wherever He wants us to go.

 

Just a smile or a kind word can brighten the day for someone who may be sad or lonely.  We can take the time to give a friend a phone call or write a cheery note.  That’s when God’s blessings are two-fold.

 

Simple deeds of kindness can make a difference for friends and family members. 

 

Let us remember to do all we can while we can to be a blessing to those we love.

 

A silent word of prayer for those who mean so much to us can brighten their day and give them a life on the bright side.

 

October 3, 2012

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

