Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

September 20, 2012

On The Bright Side – Mary Howell – 09/18/12

Filed under: Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 6:44 am

 

 

I am often reminded of an On The Bright Side column that I wrote twenty-eight years ago during my tenure as the Reporter’s Editor.

 

The column tells about a dignified man who came into the office one day and said “May I speak to the Editor?” the man’s eye got big and his mouth flew open when I proudly said, “I am the editor”.

 

He quickly said, “But you don’t look like an editor”.  I just smiled and the memory has brought laughter to me several times throughout the years.  I am sure that I did not fit his image of an editor.  I was not overweight, bald-headed and I didn’t even smoke a cigar!  I did not have appearance of Lou Grant.

 

We often misjudge people by the way they look or by the way they talk and walk.  My story sometimes comes to mind when someone meets me for the first time.  A few weeks ago I met a man who had been reading On The Bright Side for several years but had never seen me before  When he found out my name, he said, “Are you the Mary Howell who writes for the newspaper every week?”  I smiled and said, “Yes, I am”.

The man’s expression was the same as I saw 28 years ago.  I chuckled to myself as the new friend and I began a lively conversation.

 

How many times do we judge others by appearance or the color of their skin?

 

Isn’t it wonderful that God does not judge us by our appearance.  We can be thankful that God loves us regardless of how we look.  God’s love is constant and will never leave us or forsake us when we trust Him as our Savior.  He will give us a life on the bright side.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

