Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

July 12, 2012

On The Bright Side – Mary Howell – July 12, 2012

Filed under: Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 6:43 am

On The Bright Side

Mary Howell

 

Sabine County has been plagued with an abundance of flies during the past few months.  Some folks believe that the flies are here because of a mild winter.

 

Flies and other small insects come from the Dipteri species which means two wings. Most insects have 4 wings. For flies the second set of wings developed into halteres which are used for balance.  Flies can fly backward which is one reason they are so difficult to connect with a fly swatter. They also have eyes all around their head!  Dipterans are known by such common names as gnats, midges, mosquitoes and leaf miners in addition to numerous sorts of flies including the horse fly, house fly, blow fly and fruit bee robber and cranes flies.

 

Flies are a part of the life survival cycle that God put into motion when He created the world.  Everything that God made is dependent upon another creature for survival.  Well, so far  as I am concerned, the frogs could have all the flies that they want to eat! When I get to Heaven, I think I will ask God why He made these pesky little flies.  I’ll probably have to stand in line to ask my question!

 

On a serious note, flies can spread such diseases as diphtheria, dysentery, cholera and typhoid.  When a fly lands on something nasty, they can carry that germ to another place.

 

Flies seem to know where we are.  They seem to follow us from room to room. They love to come in an open door from the outside heat.

 

Flies are my worst pests since I am unable to use my hands to shoo them away. They always find my nose or my eyes.

 

I remember years ago I had a prospective beau who owned a cattle and horse ranch in South Texas.  One visit to his fly infested property ended the romance for me.  It seemed that millions of flies tried to welcome me to the ranch.

 

One hot summer day, I was trying to take a nap on my living room sofa.  All of a sudden, I got attacked by a fly.  He crawled all over my face and in my desperation to get rid of him I decided to spit on the fly. Every time I share my fly story, ripples of laughter flow.

 

Well, as my readers can tell, I have a dislike for flies!  I hope my funny side gives others a day on the bright side.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

