Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

June 6, 2012

On the Bright Side – June 6, 2012 – Mary Howell

 

The Singer Sewing Machine brings back happy memories of my childhood.

 

Isaac Merrit Singer developed the first commercially successful sewing machine.  Singer spent much of his youth devoted to acting.  When his acting career proved to be unsuccessful, he turned to inventing.

 

Singer was asked to repair a Lerow and Blodgett sewing machine.

A few days later he had designed and built an improved model. His version of the sewing machine was the first to allow continuous and curved stitching with an overhanging arm that held the needle bar over a horizontal table. This made it possible to sew on any part of the work. 

 

Elias  Howe also invented a sewing machine and had the first patent on the machine in 1846.

 

My mother was given her first sewing machine by the friends of the First Baptist church shortly after I was born in 1948.  Mrs. Bobbie Minton gave her sewing lessons and accompanied her to Nacogdoches for the sewing lessons. 

 

Mom’s sewing machine-made it possible for her to sew clothes for Jane, Clara and me. She made all kinds of garments for us.

 

I remember going to sleep by the hum of mother’s sewing machine.  She sewed until the wee hours of the morning to finish a garment for us to wear to school the next day.  I loved to sit at the end of the bed and watch Mother sew. She would give me scraps of material to play with.  I always enjoyed playing in Mom’s button box until one day, I stuck a button up my nose.  That caused an emergency trip to Dr. Winslow’s office to let him remove the button from my nose.  Needless to say, I never did that again! and Dr. Winslow wouldn’t let me live that down.   After almost 60 years, he still teases me about my predicament.

 

Mon’s sewing machine still works even though Mom is not here to sew clothes anymore.

 

Like all good seamstresses, God has given us a pattern to use for our daily lives.  God’s Word, the Bible, is the greatest pattern that we can follow and ask God’s blessings for a life on the bright side.

 


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

