Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

May 17, 2012

On The Bright Side – Mary Howell – May 16, 2012

 

The month of May has been designated as Older American’s Month to give honor to those of us who have reached fifty-five years or older.

 

Senior citizens make up a large majority of our national population.  We outnumber the younger generation.

 

Although some people think senior citizens just sit in our rocking chairs and twiddle our thumbs,  I’m here to tell you that is not true anymore.  We laugh and cry.  Some still go to work in their 70’s, 80’s and even 90’s. We still go to church and most older folks are more faithful in church than the younger generations are.  We’ re not afraid to speak up.  We speak our mind even though sometimes our brain doesn’t work right.  Some folks can’t remember what happened five minutes ago while others can tell about things that happened to them 70 or 80 years ago.  I recently overheard two gentlemen talking before Sunday morning worship services.  One made a remark,” If I’d known I was going to live this long, I would have taken better care of myself”.  The other fellow smiled and said “I wouldn’t change a thing, I had too much fun getting here”. 

 

Senior citizens do not take life for granted. They enjoy every day that God gives to them.

 

My Dad, who lived to be 98, always laughed when he told this little joke.  An older fellow attended a graveside service for a friend.  A young fellow walked up to his elderly friend and asked “How old are you?”  The older fellow in  a shaky voice replied, “I’m ninety-seven”.  His young friend thought a minute and then said “Well I guess there’s not much use in your going back home.”

 

I like the saying, Lord let me live as long as I am alive.  Every day a senior citizen lives could be a blessing to others and a day on the bright side.

 

May 16, 2012

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

