Tadpole's Outdoor Blog

November 24, 2011

On The Bright Side-Mary Howell-11/24/2011

Filed under: Hemphill Care Center,Mary Howell — Freddie Keel @ 6:01 am

On The Bright Side

Mary Howell

 

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays of the year. It is a day for family gatherings and is the most American holiday that we celebrate.  Like the pilgrims of 1621, we should stop to give God thanks for His bountiful blessings.  Sometimes we forget how blessed we all are to live in a free country where we can still worship as we choose.  We can be thankful that we can till pray.  Although we may have lost some of our freedom to pray publicly we can still pray privately and make our personal petitions and praises to God.

 

One of my favorite Bible verses is “In everything, give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you” 1 Thessalonians 5:18.  In every situation that we find ourselves, we can find a blessing from God if we take the time to look hard enough.

 

Some of the things for which I am most thankful are that God is my Heavenly Father. He gave His only son Jesus, to bring love and hope to the world.  Those who put their trust in Jesus can have eternal life and the assurance of a Heavenly home after death.

 

I am thankful for Christian parents and two loving sisters who taught me to love God,  home and country.  I thank God for friends who have greatly enriched my life.  Friends brighten the days just by giving a bit of their time.  I am thankful for the fellowship of my church family who pray for me. 

 

I thank God for flowers, trees and all the beauties of nature that God has given to us.

 

We can all be thankful for health and breath of life.  Every morning when we wake up, we should take the time to thank God for allowing us to live one more day.  Whether our health is good or bad, we can be thankful that we are still alive and feeling as well as we are.

 

We can all be thankful for food and physical sustenance that we enjoy from day-to-day.

 

These are just a few of the many blessings for which I am thankful.  I encourage everyone to take the time to give thanks to God this Thanksgiving for the blessings that God bestows upon us to make a life on the bright side.

 

November 24, 2011

+++++++++

Comments:

When times are tough, I have learned through the years, that it is time to start writing a grateful list. It always lifts my mood, gives me renewed hope that God is still in control and taking care of me, and it certainly makes my day go better. Comment by Becky Lannon — November 29, 2011 @ 9:21 am

1 Comment »

  1. Very impressive blog. When times are tough, I have learned through the years, that it is time to start writing a grateful list. It always lifts my mood, gives me renewed hope that God is still in control and taking care of me, and it certainly makes my day go better.

    Comment by Becky Lannon — November 29, 2011 @ 9:21 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

